Backblaze Twitter

Posted : admin On 1/3/2022

The steps below show how to enter Backblaze credentials into the S3 forms. Step 1: Log in to your ReadyNAS and select Cloud. Step 2: Click on the Amazon S3 On-Off slider so that the slider shows the On position and then the Amazon S3 configuration window will open. Backblaze is being used to backup user's data to Backblaze's cloud. This off-site backup strategy lets me be assured that my data will be secure should tragedy ever strike (flood, fire, etc.). Backblaze does this backup unobtrusively, users hardly notice the applications is ever backing up their data in the background because it does so. From time-to-time Backblaze may need to perform system maintenance outside of our Scheduled Maintenance window. We will provide notice and/or status of such maintenance on one or more of the the following services: the Backblaze Twitter channel and the Backblaze Blog. Please note: This offer is only valid for new Backblaze customers and must be redeemed within 30 days of signing up. The plan covers backup for one computer for one year. Upon expiration, Backblaze’s service can be renewed for $6/month or $60/year. Customers are subject to Backblaze’s terms and conditions once an account is created.

Backblaze has removed Facebook tracking code (also known as an advertising pixel) accidentally added to web UI pages only accessible to logged-in customers.

The US-based cloud storage and online backup provider has customers from 175 countries and stores over 1 Exabyte of customer data on its servers.

The tracking code was inadvertently added with a new Facebook advertising campaign that started on On March 8, said Yev Pusin, Backblaze's Senior Director Of Marketing.

Backblaze discovered the issue after receiving user reports on March 21 that pages on the B2 web UI were sending file names and sizes to Facebook.

Tracking code active for two weeks

Backblaze Twitter Page

While the Facebook advertising pixel used in such campaigns is ordinarily used only on marketing pages, this campaign was accidentally configured to run on all platform pages, including web UI pages only accessible to logged-in users.

'We promptly investigated the matter and, once we were able to identify, verify, and replicate the issue, we removed the offending code from the signed-in pages on March 21,' Pusin said.

'Our Engineering, Security, and Compliance/Privacy teams—as well as other staff—are continuing to investigate the cause and working on steps to help ensure this doesn't happen again.'

The third-party tracking code was only deployed on the b2_browse_files2.htm web UI page, which allows users to browse their B2 Cloud Storage files as Backblaze found after investigating the incident.

No account info or files share with Facebook

Backblaze discovered that 9,245 users visited that page while the Facebook campaign was active (between March 8 and March 21).

Backblaze Twitter

While the campaign ran, the third-party tracking code collected file and folder metadata such as file names, sizes, and dates and uploaded it to Facebook's servers.

Backblaze twitter codes

Luckily, this happened only for customers who clicked to preview file information while browsing through their B2 Cloud Storage files.

Backblaze Support Twitter

Pusin added that no user files or user account info was sent to Facebook while the tracking code was active on signed-in pages.

'No actual files or file contents were shared at any time. The data that was pulled did not include any user account information,' he said.

'Backblaze did not intentionally share this data with Facebook, nor did Backblaze receive any form of compensation for it.'

Related Articles: